Peonies are my absolute, most favorit-est flower in the world–I love how they start out as tight little pom-poms and open up into these huge, gorgeous feathery blooms from white to the deepest magenta. They remind me of cotton candy. And the fact that they reach the peak of their season in early June–right around my birthday–makes them all the more special to me.

Today is my actual birthday, and I’m a very lucky gal. My dreamboat of a boyfriend showed up at my door with a bouquet of my favorite blooms. He was worried the flowers he got me were of the “injured baby” variety (his words), but I assured him that they will bloom over the next couple of days…much to my delight.

And as another birthday treat, I stumbled upon some gorgeous peony photos over on SFGirlByBay (a delightful blog I highly suggest perusing) taken by Mrs. French, another crafty blogger whose site I plan on scouring for more awesomeness.

Have a lovely weekend and if peonies are available where you are, I recommend you do yourself a favor and pick up a bunch.

photo by Mrs. French via SFGirlByBay

photo by Mrs. French via SFGirlByBay

photo by Mrs. French via SFGirlByBay

photo by Mrs. French via SFGirlByBay

photo by Mrs. French via SFGirlByBay

photo by Mrs. French via SFGirlByBay

