I am deeply, deeply envious of the other apartment dwellers in Los Angeles who are lucky enough to have their own, private balconies. When I walk Buddha around my ‘hood, my gaze is often pointed upward, sizing up the different styles of balconies up and down my block, imagining what plants I would pot to take advantage of the morning light on Balcony A, how I’d hang sheer, casbah-reminiscent privacy curtains on Balcony B, and whether string lights or votive candle sconces would be more suited to Balcony C. Like I said–DEEPLY envious…and sometimes, I feel as if these balcony-blessed folks don’t realize how good they have it. I see neglected topiaries, ashtrays overflowing with butts soggy and swollen from last week’s rain, outgrown children’s toys pushed to the farthest reaches of a family’s living space before they’re eventually tossed into a dumpster. There are millions of us crammed together here in Los Angeles, and these people are lucky enough to have their own little private patches of outdoor living space. Don’t they realize how good they’ve got it?! Pardon me….ahem…

Anyway, Apartment Therapy is hosting a little friendly competition (less like a contest than show-and-tell) throughout the month of June called My Great Outdoors Project, specifically for those people lucky enough to have their own, personal slice of world just outside their living room (or bedroom, or kitchen) window, and are making excellent use of such.

If you are one of these lucky folks, head on over to Apartment Therapy and join in on the action. Show off your stuff for those of us living vicariously through your 3rd floor balconies and garden level patios. I won’t say you *owe* it to us, but…

A couple of my favorites so far:

gorgeoux's london balcony

gorgeoux's london balcony

lisa's chicago condo balcony

lisa's chicago condo balcony

